Houston, TX, Super Happy Funland!

This is the smiling face that greeted me at Super Happy Funland in Houston, TX.

The whole building is covered in murals.

I think this was my favorite!

This is the back yard. I stayed here two nights. Immediately behind me are three sets of very active railroad tracks, which gave me the opportunity to do something I’ve wanted to do since I was a boy.

That’s a penny, flattened by a freight train.

Super Happy Funland is covered in, and full of art, including some unusual collections

…like this collection of mannequin heads, and this:

The crew at Super Happy Funland were awesome! Thanks to Larry, Jason, Brian, and Don, who have kept this place going for 21 years so far, for their hospitality, and for keeping a venue like this going. You can tell that Super Happy Funland is a labor of love, and I was feelin’ it.

Special thanks to CIA Records in Houston for bringing out two awesome local acts to make a full evening’s entertainment. Ether Research opened the show.

Followed by Can’t Take a Picture, a duo made up of Dan Workman and Nikki Hune, who have an illustrious history in the Houston art and music scene.

Here’s an excerpt of my performance:

We had a nice crowd for the evening.

…and they make a great pizza! Super Happy Funland certainly lived up to it’s name!

Leave a comment